Alternative Lagoon File Transfer Runbook¶

Overview¶

This runbook provides alternative instructions for transferring files from Lagoon environments to local development when the Lagoon UI backup feature fails. This is particularly useful for webmaster libraries that depend on module files being available locally. The regular way of transferring files is described in this document.

When to Use This Runbook¶

Need to download files from a Lagoon environment to local development
Setting up a webmaster library locally that requires module files
Manual file synchronization between environments

Prerequisites¶

Lagoon CLI installed and configured
SSH access to the target Lagoon project

Step-by-Step Procedure¶

Step 1: Connect to Lagoon Environment¶

Open terminal
Connect to the target project's SSH environment:

lagoon ssh -p [project] -e main

Replace [project] with the actual project name

Step 2: Create Archive of Files¶

Choose one of the following options based on your needs:

Option A: All Site Files¶

tar -cvzf /tmp/[project]_files.tar.gz /app/web/sites/default/files/

Option B: Drupal Modules Only¶

tar -cvzf /tmp/[project]_files_modules.tar.gz /app/web/sites/default/files/modules_local

Replace [project] with your project name for consistent naming.

Step 3: Exit SSH Session¶

exit

Or use keyboard shortcut: Ctrl + D

Step 4: Get SSH Connection String¶

Retrieve the SSH connection details:

lagoon ssh -p [project] -e main --conn-string

Note the connection string format: [project]-[environment]@[ip]

Step 5: Transfer Files Using SCP¶

Use SCP to copy the archive to your local machine:

scp [project]-[environment]@[ip]:/tmp/[project]_files.tar.gz /tmp/

Step 6: Extract Files Locally¶

Navigate to the temporary directory:

cd /tmp

Extract the archive:

tar -xzf [project]_files.tar.gz

Step 7: Copy Files to Project¶

Navigate to your local project directory
Copy the necessary files to your project's web/sites/default/files/ directory:

cp -r /tmp/app/web/sites/default/files/* /path/to/your/project/web/sites/default/files/

Example Walkthrough¶

For a project called "skanderborg":

# Step 1: Connect to SSH
lagoon ssh -p skanderborg -e main

# Step 2: Create archive (modules only)
tar -cvzf /tmp/skanderborg_files_modules.tar.gz /app/web/sites/default/files/modules_local

```bash
# Step 3: Exit SSH
exit

```bash
# Step 4: Get connection string
lagoon ssh -p skanderborg -e main --conn-string

# Step 5: Transfer files
scp skanderborg-main@ssh.lagoon.amazeeio.cloud:/tmp/skanderborg_files_modules.tar.gz/tmp/

# Step 6: Extract locally
cd /tmp
tar -xzf skanderborg_files_modules.tar.gz

# Step 7: Copy to project
cp -r /tmp/app/web/sites/default/files/modules_local/* ./web/sites/default/files/modules_local/

Troubleshooting¶

Issue: SSH Connection Failed¶

The lagoon sshcommand fails occasionally. Usually it is in the ssh handshake phase. Just run the command again until it succeeds.